Executive Condo Residents to Benefit from MRT Upgrading

SINGAPORE: By 2018, commuters at 17 North-South and East-West Lines MRT stations will get more space while waiting for the next train. This will benefit executive condo residents such as those from Skypark Residences, Signature At Yishun EC, Brownstone EC and Parc Life EC which are located near stations along the North South Line.

The reconfiguration is part of ongoing upgrading works to spruce up the older MRT stations, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said in a news release on Monday (Oct 19).

Platform voids at 11 stations will be covered over to create more standing space, while space at the other six stations will be freed up by repositioning the seats at the platforms. In addition, more seats will be provided for commuters waiting for trains.

Works are expected to commence in mid-2016, with the majority being carried out during non-service hours to minimise inconvenience to commuters, LTA said.

LTA Chief Executive Chew Men Leong said: “We are constantly looking at ways to upgrade existing stations even as we continue to build new MRT lines. Besides managing crowding at the platforms during peak hours, we are also looking to enhance our older MRT stations by creating up to 15 per cent additional space at some of the stations to make public transport a more pleasant experience for all commuters.”

The 17 stations to be upgraded are:

1.            Ang Mo Kio
2.            Bishan
3.            Boon Lay
4.            Buona Vista
5.            Choa Chu Kang
6.            City Hall
7.            Clementi
8.            Eunos
9.            Jurong East
10.          Khatib
11.          Lakeside
12.          Raffles Place
13.          Pasir Ris
14.          Pioneer
15.          Tampines
16.          Tanjong Pagar
17.          Yishun


executive condo mrt map